Tags

,

Tonight is my night to report to the school board.  I have a written report – turned in over a week ago – but tonight I will stand in front of this group of men and women who care so much about our school that they serve (voluntarily) on our school board.  I am not nervous.  At some point in the last 10 years, I have become comfortable talking to groups of adults.  But I am pondering what I have to say – what words will paint a picture of the heart and spirit of our preschool program.  Maybe  it will be a story – a story from the classroom.   Maybe an example of this new concept I am exploring – flow.  Or it might be about a conversation I have had with a parent, a question that we are trying to answer together, a relationship we are building.  This morning I have been thinking about how little time we have, as adults, to build relationships and community.  There is always so much business, so many details.  Children are able to play their way into relationships, to set out an idea and then move with that idea as others enter the play.  When do we stop playing in this way?  And what if we could play together more often? 

Another quote that is speaking to me:

“A good question is never answered.  It is not a bolt to be tightened into place but a seed to be planted and to bear more seed toward the hope of greening the landscape of ideas.”  John Ciardi

Maybe I will stop at the garden store today and look for some seeds.  (Don’t you love that word maybe – it leaves us open to possibility.)

