Tags

,

Often I have conversations with parents about what is important in these early years.  I hear the reports on the news, see the articles in the magazines.  I understand the messages that parents of young children have coming at them.  These early years ARE important – the question is – what is important? 

Today I watched a group of children work at learning something important.  They didn’t do this in the classrooms.  They were not sitting in chairs or using pencils or counting objects or sounding out words.  What they were doing was learning to cooperate, learning how to work together, learning how to get your message out, to tell someone else what you need or don’t need.  This is important learning.  It will help a student communicate with friends, with teachers, with parents.  It is building vocabulary, perspective, patience.  I think that is important.  I just need to work at giving this work a voice.

