Tags

I don’t consider myself a numbers person.  I was never comfortable with math.  And after my 9th grade algebra teacher told me “girls don’t need math”, I pretty much tuned out.  But I find myself needing to keep company with numbers, especially at this time of year when we are planning the budget and working on payroll for the next school year.  I sat in the finance director’s office with my netbook opened to a spreadsheet I had created.  I had all the numbers she needed – how many hours, how many students, level on the salary sheet, certification qualifiers.  And as we passed numbers back and forth, I found that I wasn’t as nervous as I have been in past year.  I knew this would work out.  And, perhaps best of all, I knew there wouldn’t be a test at the end of our session.

