Tags

I am not always good at remembering the goals I have set for my school year.  I can hold on to the goals and tasks we agreed to do as a staff this year but I am sure I set some personal goals too.  I just can’t seem to put my finger on that list.

But for this upcoming year, I have a goal that I think will be easy to recall.  My goal is to be quick to listen and slow to dismiss.  I know I won’t be able to say YES to every request but I want to consider each one and to work at looking at the possibilities.  As an administrator, I am in the position of needing to watch the budget and keeping the big picture in sight.  Somethings just don’t fit, at least as they are originally proposed.  BUT . . . with a little thought and a bit of flexibility . . . who knows.

I love this book.  I gave it to the elementary principal to read to the first graders last week during their all day read-a-thon.  And it was sitting on my desk when my daughter sent the email telling me she had finished her last grad school exam.  Today is your YES day I replied. 

So, 2011-2012 school year – my YES year.  I think I might need a new writing journal to record the journey – a YES Journal!

