Tags

,

I am sad to see you go.  I have spent many hours with you.  At first, I wasn’t sure I liked the two-story format for a bookstore but I learned where you put your books and took comfort in the fact that you didn’t keep moving things around.  There was that winter when we lost power for 10 days at our house and you welcomed us in with warm coffee and power for our computers.  And what about those days one August when it was over 100 degrees – unheard of in this part of the country.  But inside we found a cool place to sit and sip our iced coffee as we waited for the sun to go down cool.  We planned most of our UK trip with books from your travel section, and it was a great trip.
Today I took my battered Rewards and Educator’s cards out of my wallet.  I won’t be needing them anymore.  We won’t be stopping by on Sundays after church to check out the new magazines and see what books are on the Buy One – Get One Half off tables.  I have my KOBO reader, purchased just a year ago, my way of saying you were my bookstore.  I know I should visit you one more time and bring home a few more books or journals, but it is too hard to be there now. 
I don’t know what went wrong, don’t understand the business world enough to understand why you are closing your doors.  I only know I will find an independent bookstore to call home now.
It is closing time.

